Grandma’s Homemade Beef Pörkölt

IMG_2883Pörkölt is a traditional Hungarian stew of meat, vegetables, and paprika. While it is very similar to Goulash, Pörkölt is much more meat based (and in my opinion much tastier).

Out of all of the dishes I’ve made so far that have been inspired by my grandmother, this has turned out to be the tastiest and the one that I have most enjoyed making.

I have many memories of this dish. I remember being younger and eating this with my Papa. It was his personal favourite and one that my Nan loved cooking for him the most.

As this recipe is very similar to Goulash, a dish I have previously made on this blog, I had some ingredients left over and I used them. The only ingredients I had to buy were the beef and tomato, so this beef is fairly cheap to make and that is always a good thing if you are on a budget.

Serves 3-4 people

Ingredients:

2 tbsp vegetable oil

500g beef stewing meat

1 large onion, minced

1 large garlic clove, minced

1 medium green bell pepper, chopped

2 tbsp sweet Paprika

1 tsp Caraway seeds

1 large tomato, peeled and diced

Salt and pepper IMG_2842

Method:

  1. In a large saucepan, heat the vegetable oil over a medium heat. Add the minced onion and saute for about 8 minutes until softened. Add the green bell pepper and garlic. Continue to saute for another 5 minutes until the bell pepper is tender.
  2. Add the beef to the saucepan and season slightly with salt and pepper. Cook for around 5-6 minutes, stirring twice until the meat is browned.
  3. Sprinkle Paprika and Caraway seeds evenly on top of the meat. Then, add the diced tomatoes.
  4. Pour 4-5 cups of hot water into the pan until the meat is almost covered. Stir and bring to a boil for around 4 minutes.
  5. Once the water is boiling, reduce the heat to a simmer and cover the pan. Let the pan simmer slowly for about 90 minutes.
  6. When the meat is tender and the sauce is thick, remove the pan from the heat.
  7. If desired, season with salt and pepper and serve over spaetzle, potatoes, rice or noodles (I used pasta).
Leave a Reply

